CMMI – Overview and 5 Levels

CMMI – Overview and 5 Levels

This article will have an overview of CMMI and its Levels.

CMMI was formed by merging multiple CMM models like CMM for software, CMM for Systems Engineering, CMM for Integrated process and product development etc.

As managing multiple CMM models is difficult, SEI integrated all CMM models into one – CMM Integrated. The structure and essence of CMMI is same as that ofCMM. As in CMM, in CMMI also there are 5 levels of maturity:

Level 1 : Initial or Ad-hoc. There are no PAs (Process Areas) in this level

Level 2 : Managed. There are 7 PAs. PAs at this level look at project planning and execution (Basic project management)

Level 3 : Defined. There are 13 PAs here. Life cycle processes and Organizational processes are the focus areas here.

Level 4 : Quantitatively Managed. There are 2 PAs that deal with project management with quantitative data and statistical process control. (SPC)

Level 5 : Optimizing. There are 2 PAs. The focus is on continuous improvement.

* PA – Process Area

What is PA?

PAs are activities where Software organizations and Projects have to focus in the path towards excellence and maturity.

There are total 24 PAs in all.

Characteristics of a Mature Organization

A mature software organization possesses an organization-wide ability for managing software development and maintenance processes. The software process is accurately communicated to both existing staff and new employees, and work activities are carried out according to the planned process. The processes mandated are fit for use and consistent with the way the work actually gets done. These defined processes are updated when necessary, and improvements are developed through controlled pilot-tests and/or cost benefit analyses. Roles and responsibilities within the defined process are clear throughout the project and across the organization.

The CMM / CMMI model was designed to guide software organizations in selecting process improvement strategies by determining current process maturity and identifying the few issues most critical to software quality and process improvement.

As we move from Level 1 to 5, the project risk decreases & Quality and Productivity increases.

Previous – CMMI – Introduction
Next – Level 1: Initial of CMMI

Paras Mishra

I am cool, calm, collected, and reasonable Virgo. I currently reside in Garden City Bangalore. I am an Engineering Graduate and work as Management Consultant.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *